What are Chakras?

The word “Chakra” is a Sanskrit word that literally translates to “disk” or “wheel.” There are 114 of the spinning energy wheels throughout the body. In this blog post, I give a very BRIEF overview of the main 7: The Root, Sacral, Solar Plexus, Heart, Throat, 3rd Eye, and the Crown chakras.

Our 7 main chakras run down the governing vessel of the body, beginning from the area just above our heads (crown) and running all the way down the base of spine (root). On a physical level, 7 main chakras correspond to a specific point in our bodies where certain bundles of nerves meet (you can call these “nerve centers”) and each chakra governs a specific group of organs. On a metaphysical level, the chakras regulate the flow of Energy between the physical world and the non-physical world that moves through our bodies.

When your chakras are imbalanced (under-active, over-active, or blocked), you will experience imbalances and blockages in your thoughts, emotions, your relationships, your connection with Divine Source, and other areas of your life. If your chakras continue to remain imbalanced then you will begin to have manifestations in your physical body as well. An imbalance or a blockage in one chakra will affect the flow of Energy in your other chakras, which in turn affects the flow of Divine Source Energy throughout your entire Being. Therefore, it is important that your chakras be in a constant state of balance and openness.

Your Lower Chakras

The Root Chakra (Muladhara)

Location: Base of spine, perineum

Color: Red

Organ: Skeletal system, muscular system, adrenal glands

Life Sphere: Basic survival needs (food, water, shelter, clothing, safety, security), stability, foundation of your relationship with money

The Sacral Chakra (Svadhisthana)

Location: About 2 finger spaces below the navel

Color: Orange

Organ: Reproductive organs, renal system

Life Sphere: Creativity, sex, desire, pleasure, emotions, desire for social interaction, desire for procreation

The Solar Plexus Chakra (Manipura)

Location: About a hand’s width below the sternum

Color: Yellow

Organ: Digestive system, pancreas

Life Sphere: Willpower, self-esteem, personal power

Your Center Chakra

The Heart Chakra (Anahata)

Location: Heart level

Color: Green

Organs: Heart, lungs, thymus gland

Life Sphere: Love, compassion, connection

Your Higher Chakras

The Throat Chakra (Vishuddha)

Location: Throat

Color: Blue

Organs: Thyroid

Life Sphere: Communication, speech, self-expression

The 3rd Eye Chakra

Location: Forehead, between your eyebrows

Color: Indigo

Organs: Pituitary gland

Life Sphere: The purest form of intuition, perception, vision, dreams, revelation

The Crown Chakra (Sahaswara)

Location: Top of the head, in the center

Color: Violet

Organs: Pineal Gland

Life Sphere: Enlightenment, spiritual wisdom and understanding, awakened consciousness

Tips for healing, balancing, and supporting your Chakras

Color therapy is a great way to support you in balancing your chakras. One of the easiest ways to engage with color therapy is to wear the color of the respective chakra you are looking to support. Eating foods that match the color of the chakra you want to support allows you to incorporate both color and nutrition therapies as part of your chakra healing. You can also lay in the sun for about 30 minutes to give your chakras a quick energy boost. Aroma therapy, crystal therapy, and massage can also support you, as there are specific protocols for each chakra.

Reiki therapy is one of the most effective ways to realign, clear, and balance your chakras. Your Reiki Therapist can assess each one of your chakras to determine which ones are blocked, under-active, or over-active. Once your chakras are assessed, your Reiki therapist will act as a conduit for the healing Universal Divine Energy and allow that Energy to flow through her hands into and through you to help unblock, balance, and realign your chakras. You can receive Reiki Therapy in person or you can even schedule a distance Reiki Therapy session (yes, distance healing sessions are just as effective as in-person sessions).

You Should Also Check Out My Practical Chakra Healing Blog and Video Series

I’ve put together a blog and video series that is dedicated to providing you with some PRACTICAL ways that you can include Chakra healing and support in your everyday Life Experience, simply by being more intentional about the things you are probably already doing daily.

First, make sure you sign up to receive updates each time I release a new blog post or video in the Practical Chakra Healing Series. This way, you don’t have try to remember to keep coming back here. You’ll get an update each time I add a new blog or video to this series. Then take a look at the introductory blog post for the series to get the details.

What’s Next?
Transform Your Body and Your Life through Movement, Meditation, and Magic

Leave a Reply